My time back in Charlotte has been wonderful, but busy. I still haven't finished unpacking... but I have a had a great time hanging out with friends. My week suddenly got busier when Bekah's car wouldn't start, then Kate's broke, and then mine starting making noise. You never realize how important cars are until yours starts giving you trouble. I had all kinds of relaxing things planned for today: Church, gluten-free baking for Bekah (she has had a rough week, plus I want to bake!), organizing & preparing for school, cleaning my room, etc, but that has all been foiled since I spent 4 hours at Tire Kingdom today. Blah. Something interesting happened while I was there though. When I walked in yesterday, the manager said "you must be Sarah or Lisa". I had told them on the phone my information, but when I walked in he couldn't see my car and had no inclination that I was Sarah except for the fact that I was a girl. I asked him how he knew that and he said he just knew things. I spent a good hour there on Saturday only to find out that I would need to come back Sunday/today because they were waiting on a part to come in. I came back today after church and was told the replacement would take an hour. I arrived at 12:40. Come 2:00 I was starving and tired of waiting. I told the manager who was working up front (same guy who knew my name) that I wanted to leave and was considering walking to get some food and he asked if I was a good driver. I said sure, and he handed me the keys to his toyota solara. He asked me to bring him back some sweet tea, and when I said yes he told me he was just kidding. I assured him that I didn't mind and offered to buy it for him. I figured a $1 sweet tea from McDonalds was a fair trade for him entrusting me with his car. As I pulled out I got honked at from a car that was speeding. Greatttttt I thought. I had hoped he hadn't seen and/or heard. I got my lunch and his snack and came back to the shop. He asked if I had almost got t-boned because he heard the honk. Opps! We chatted a little more and he asked me if I was majoring in psychology. I told him no, that I was majoring in nursing and he said that he thought that because of how I squinted as if thinking deeply when I spoke sometimes. We chatted some more, and then I waited for another two hours. I came back up to the front to bother him as we waited on the final tweaks to be made to my car. He was a nice man, maybe in his 40's & married. He talked to me about nursing and how he knew someone from his Church that did the hiring for CMC and how they were having a hiring freeze. More good news, I thought. He told me he would look at Bekah's car and battery for free if she wanted too (that actually was good news!) Right before I left I asked him once more how he knew I was Sarah and he said he had "already told me". He said, "you won't accept it because it is not logical. I can see that you are rational and have a hard time believing things that don't make sense." He told me to call him if I had any more questions or if I wanted to talk about being logical or how he knew. Weird.
Interestingly enough, this man had me pegged. I really am too logical and rational. I know that often hinders me from praying the big prayers, believing the big dreams.
Today in Church Pastor J preached on the importance of "documenting" what God is doing in our lives, for we often forget. So I am documenting. I don't want to cling hard onto what I have control over or what seems solid, because even these things fail. The Lord will fulfill His promises... Just as I have a peace right now about not having a job, but that I will be provided one when I graduate and not to worry. A peace about enjoying my life right now. It sounds stupid and I don't want to accept it. I am having to be very intentional not to control the situation or try to figure it all out on my own. I want to TRUST.
Sunday, August 22, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment